Appetite for Destruction

Top Tracks: “Appetite for Destruction” – Guns N’ Roses

Guns N’ Roses’ debut studio album, Appetite for Destruction, was released on July 21, 1987. Initially overlooked by mainstream audiences, it wasn’t until the band toured and gained airplay with hits like “Welcome to the Jungle”, “Paradise City” and “Sweet Child o’ Mine”. That the album achieved commercial success the following year. Despite initial mixed reviews, “Appetite for Destruction” has since been recognized as one of the greatest albums in music history.

Top Tracks: Appetite for Destruction - Guns N' Roses

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Guns N’ Roses initially recorded songs for an EP in March 1985, right after the band was established. The tracks included “Don’t Cry” a rendition of “Heartbreak Hotel”, “Think About You” and “Anything Goes”. Unfortunately, the EP never saw the light of day due to the departure of original guitarist Tracii Guns. He was then replaced by Slash. This change led to the formation of the iconic lineup consisting of Axl Rose, Duff McKagan, Slash, Steven Adler and Izzy Stradlin.

Appetite for Destruction
Appetite for Destruction

Rose revealed that a significant portion of the album’s songs were crafted during the band’s performances in the Los Angeles club scene. Several tracks that later appeared on Guns N’ Roses albums were actually contenders for “Appetite for Destruction”. Including “Back Off Bitch”, “You Could Be Mine”, “November Rain” and “Don’t Cry”. Legend has it that “November Rain” didn’t make the cut because the band had already decided to include “Sweet Child o’ Mine” as their ballad on the album.

Top Tracks: “W.A.S.P.” – W.A.S.P.

The original cover art of the album was inspired by Robert Williams’ painting “Appetite for Destruction”, featuring a robotic rapist facing retribution from a metal avenger. Due to objections from various music retailers, the label decided to include the controversial artwork inside the album. And replaced the cover with a design showcasing a Celtic cross and skulls symbolizing each band member (Izzy Stradlin, Steven Adler, Axl Rose, Duff McKagan and Slash).

Guns N’ Roses

W. Axl Rose – lead vocals, synthesizer on “Paradise City”, percussion
Slash – lead guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, talk box, backing vocals
Izzy Stradlin – rhythm guitar, lead guitar, backing vocals, percussion
Duff “Rose” McKagan – bass guitar, backing vocals
Steven Adler – drums


🤘🎸 Passionate about all things heavy metal, im a die-hard enthusiast with an insatiable appetite for headbanging riffs, thunderous drums, and powerful vocals. From classic bands to underground gems, their love for the genre knows no bounds. As a dedicated metalhead, i spend days exploring the depths of the metal scene, discovering new bands, attending concerts, and immersing themselves in the rich culture of heavy music. With a background in journalism and a fiery determination to share their passion with fellow metalheads, to bring a unique perspective and relentless energy to the world of heavy metal journalism. Follow along for insightful reviews, in-depth interviews, and all the latest news from the electrifying world of metal. 🤘🔥

Articles: 182

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Metal? Sign up!!!
Get daily dose of our top headlines and join Metal newsletter community